Cool Kid 

Allison is at the age where she always watches what I do and often mimicks me. This is great because she learns a lot and I love having a mini-me. However, I also have to be more careful in what I say and do so she does not pick up on some of my bad habits. I am really glad I had a girl as a first child because she can be my spoiled little princess.

Lately, she has picked up the habit of screaming “no” (or just screaming in general) when I tell her we have to leave some place she does not want to. I do not know where she got the screaming idea from but I hope it’s a short stage. I try to ignore it and I’m sure people understand, but I also don’t want to be the annoying person that lets their kid scream in public. Thankfully, it never gets that bad. When Allison does not want to leave (the library play area for example), I often distract her or tell her we can get a sweet treat if we leave. I also follow through on my promises because she is so cute when she listens to me and grabs my hand to go. She is becoming more independent and curious. I’m okay with this as long as she doesn’t get in the way of people or does not make a mess in public places. When she inevitably makes a mess, I clean it up of course. There are some parents that let their kids be total brats and that is not okay.

Galatians 6:2 ICB Help each other with your troubles. When you do this, you truly obey the law of Christ.

Leave a Reply

