Reading Club

The local library has a summer reading club and I signed up both me and Allison. I hope this will get us to read more books this summer instead of watching tv. My library also does program called Zinio for Libraries by Zinio LLC. I can “borrow” a bunch of great magazines for the app and can also download them for offline reading. I love magazines and this way I don’t have to subscribe to all of my favorites. I have a few print subscriptions but I am glad I can read some others I like online for free. This app is great because it works on my iPhone, and I know a lot of e-magazines are iPad only.

Allison and I recently visited the main (downtown) branch of the Columbus Metropolitan chain of libraries. This chain has 23 branches and other partner branches so I have the access to all of the libraries in and around Columbus. Libraries are a great place for resources and I’m really excited about having this reading club for summer. Also, there are a few libraries that have nice play areas for kids so I will have to research more of them nearby and hopefully Allison will enjoy them. I have not been to many of the events- only one toddler read aloud event- but I am planning on going to more of them.

The reading club has just begun and there are some good prizes so I plan on reading all the way to the end. Plus, I can “kill two birds with one stone” by reading to Allison. The nice librarian reminded me of this when I signed up.

Proverbs 15:4 NIV The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life, but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.

Leave a Reply

