Zoo Day

It was beautiful day today and a large group of us stay at home moms decided to spend it at the Columbus Zoo. It was a little difficult to navigate with 8 adults and more than twice that amount in children, but it was still very fun. We all helped each other with the kids and it was a great exercise. I’m sure the kids all had fun- even the cranky ones that missed their nap times.  Allison rode in a wagon with her cousin and she was good for the majority of the time. She still wore herself out and fell asleep in the car soon after we left for home. I brought my camera along but it was difficult to take pictures because the kids are either always on the move, or there are too many people and things in the background.

All of the animals we visited were out and active today, including the new polar bear cub which was adorable. This year, I let Allison feed the giraffe (last year she was too young) and that was a fun experience. We also saw a few other animals in the Africa exhibit and some of the animals in the Shores and Islands exhibit. Allison was a little scared of the large fish at first, but she quickly got over it with my help.

We were all a little sun kissed and tired after spending the morning at the zoo but it was a delightful time and I plan on returning soon. A friend had family passes so that was nice of her to get us in for free. For Franklin county residents, the zoo admission is half off from Monday through Wednesday so that is a great incentive to go earlier in the week. I am considering getting a membership myself but the drive there is more than half an hour so I am not sure if it will be worth it. I will have to weigh my options and if I don’t find anything fun to do this summer that is closer to home, the zoo will be my choice.

Mathew 6:26 ESV Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?

Leave a Reply

