Self Feeding / Update

img_1625

Allison has not yet figured out how to feed herself with a spoon. This is okay because most babies don’t learn it until months or so after their first birthdays. I usually give her less messy foods to pick up or feed her by myself, but today I decided to let her try it on her own.

This resulted in a huge mess, but she really enjoyed her bath afterwards. I will let her practice eating with a spoon more often in the up coming months, because I think she wants to do it on her own and just so she learns faster. One of my sisters in law actually said that the earlier they learn to self feed the better; this way they do not grow up expecting you to get everything for them. This was from her experience so I think I will try to follow that idea and teach Allison to be more independent.

On another note, Allison’s walking has improved by a lot. She loves to walk around the house on her own now and does it more often. She also follows me around more on foot now instead of by crawling. Of course, she still gets tired sometimes and goes back to crawling. For the most part, however, she is walking and getting more confident in doing so. A lot of people say that a walking baby is more of a hassle because they get into more things and run away more. It was the same for crawling though so I will expect this. Allison was a fast crawler and with walking, she will get into the same amount of things as she did before. I think she gained a lot of confidence being around her cousins and seeing other kids run around. My baby keeps growing and growing and I’m so proud of her and sad at the same time.img_1641img_1652

Proverbs 29:17 (ESV) Discipline your son, and he will give you rest; he will give delight to your heart.

Leave a Reply

