Feeling Feverish

It has been two nights and two days since Allison first got her fever. My husband is so set on it being teething, while I think it might be an ear infection because a lot of kids are having those lately. Maybe it’s both, but all I know is that if it doesn’t get better by the 48 hr mark then I’m going to take her to the doctor.

Symptoms she has:

  • Fever ranging 100-101.8
  • Drooling
  • Tugging at face and ears
  • Irritability
  • Biting down on everything
  • Trouble sleeping
  • Cranky during day
  • Eating fine MOSTLY
  • Waking up during night
  • Loose stools? Not sure
  • Threw up her food ONCE but a lot

Night 1: I noticed Allison’s fever when she became cranky at night. Had a temperature of around 101 but it was night time so I didn’t have medicine. Trouble sleeping through night: woke up a lot throughout night to breastfeed.

Day 1: Fussy all day and very clingy all day. Ate well. Had some medicine and fever went away. Fever came back later. Later on have her more medicine and she threw it (and the baby food I gave her) up a few hours later. Fever came back. Enjoyed having her bath so I thought she got better.

Night 2: Very fussy. Went to sleep really late and kept waking up. Not as big of an appetite and was choosy about side she ate from (I had to pump the other side). Was up early morning fussy.

Day 2: Feeling better and like herself again. Playful. Gave her medicine and she felt and looked better. Now starting to feel warm again. Played with her toys and was not as clingy as other day. Eating normally. Took little nap earlier in morning and now taking a late nap.

Hopefully she will feel better by tonight because I don’t know how much more of this I can take.

Night 2/ Day 3 Update: At night, Allison had another high fever so I cooled her down with a lukewarm bath. She threw up again. I gave her medicine and slept with us so that helped her. Since the medicine helped, I did not take her in. Her fever went away over night. Today, she was fine all day: no fever or crankiness beside the normal teething. Thank God she’s better now and back to her normal self. 

On another note, Allison has 7 teeth already and more on the way. I think that is what caused the majority of her sickness. I hope she doesn’t get this bad with her other teeth because she has many more to come.

Psalm 34:18 (ESV) The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit

Leave a Reply

