Baby Birth

Our little bundle of joy has arrived!
Born January 28, 2016 at 12:18pm.
7lbs 8oz and 20 inches long

Birth Story
At around 12:40 am on the 28th, my water broke (leaked a lot) in bed. At first I wasn’t sure if it was my water so I decided to look it up online. Online, it said to lay down for 30 minutes and then when you get up again and feel fluid loss then it’s the water, which is what happened. However, I was still only 80% sure because I was losing the mucous membrane and had to pee a lot too. I wasn’t expecting my water to break at all. An hour or so after that I started to feel contractions. They were far away at first and manageable so I just walked around or took a shower to get rid of them. Things got worse when I threw up my prenatal vitamin and pretty much everything else I ate that day. I take the prenatal at night before I go to bed so it doesn’t make me sick but since I never fell asleep that night, the pill didn’t sit well. Then contractions started getting worse after a few hours and at around 3 I called the hospital and told her what was going on. Since my contractions were around few minutes apart but lasting only 20-40 seconds, she told me to hold off and wait until contractions were longer. I had had my stuff ready to go by then but decided to wait a little longer. Took another shower, threw up some bread I tried to eat, timed some of the contractions.. Then around 6 am I couldn’t take it any longer and told me husband that we were going to the hospital, even if they sent me home.  We arrived a little before 7 and they put me on monitors for baby’s heart beat and my contractions, because I told her I wanted to make sure baby was okay. Baby had a normal heart beat. At this point I was shivering cold and throwing up and cursing in Ukrainian every time I got a contraction. I was also losing fluids every time I threw up and there was pressure. The nurse did a test to check if it was amniotic fluid and it came out positive. The nurse checked to see if I was dilated and she said no, even though I should have been at least 2cm from my last prenatal visit. When I told her that, she tried again and this time I was 4cm so they decided to go get my paperwork and begin to admit me to the hospital. They then moved me to the birthing room few hours later and when she checked me again in there I was at 7 cm. I asked for an epidural because I didn’t want to deal with the pain. Got the epidural and then they told me to rest. I couldn’t sleep and I was really hungry but felt no contractions because the epidural was so strong. Shortly after I got it she checked and said I was 10cm and she  could feel the baby’s head right there. She had me try to push a few times but I couldn’t because the epidural was too strong and I couldn’t feel anything. They called the doctor and asked what to do and she said to give me pitocin so that I could feel contractions. I still couldn’t feel anything and had no urge to push. Shortly after they called the doctor in when the pitocin kicked in a little bit. Doctor make me push and I did a total of 3 major pushes (with taking quick breaths and pushing again so it counted as one). Baby’s head was out but the epidural made me too numb and I couldn’t clear enough space for the shoulders so she had to do an episiotomy (cut me a little) towards the end and was able to get baby out in single push after that. Then the nurses wiped the baby off and I got to hold her while the doctor pulled my placenta out, stitched me up, and cleaned up the blood. She congratulated me and then was on her way to her next patient. I gave birth at 12:18 pm so I was in labor a total of 12 hours and pushed from around 1-2.
Leave a Reply

